Results – Big Guns 24: Stevens vs. Morrison

Results - Big Guns 14

Results – Big Guns 24

RFO returns to the Summit County Fairgrounds tonight with Big Guns 24. A total of 14 bouts is set for tonight’s event, including five in the pro ranks.

Headlining the night’s festivities will be a featherweight contest featuring longtime RFO veteran Cody Stevens (13-9-1) taking on WEC veteran Anthony Morrison (18-10).

Stevens comes in off of the biggest win of his career, a unanimous decision over Charles Bennett at Big Guns 23 in Cleveland in March. That win moved his record to 6-1 as a pro under the RFO banner.

Morrison makes his RFO debut as he makes the trek from Eastern Pennsylvania to Ohio. He looks to rebound from a loss, as he dropped a bout to recent UFC signee Jared Gordon in his last outing at CFFC 59 last summer. Prior to that, the WEC and Bellator veteran had reeled off four straight wins dating to 2012.

Other pro bouts feature heavyweights Jeff Hughes (6-1) vs. Ryan Pokryfky (5-3), welterweights JT Miller (3-1) vs. Tilek Mashrapov (2-1), featherweights Kenny Locsei (2-1) vs. Dru Schottenheimer (3-1), and featherweights Ahmad Douglas (0-0) vs. Benjamin Allen (0-0).

Evolve MMA’s Hughes looks to rebound from the first loss of his pro career, as he dropped a bout to Dan Spohn at IT Fight Series in December. Prior to that, he started off his career with six straight wins, including five via stoppage.

Pokryfky hails from Michigan and he’ll fight for the first time as a pro out of his home state here. He competed just one time in 2016, a loss to Arjhan Bhullar at Battlefield Fight League 45 in September.

Miller looks to pick up a third straight win, as the Strong Style Fight Team welterweight will take on Mashrapov.

After a loss to AJ Dobson, Miller has reeled off back-to-back wins under the RFO banner.

Mashrapov competes in the U.S. for the first time, as he looks to pick up his third straight win. His first two have come via first round stoppage.

Douglas posted a 6-2 amateur record, including a nine-second knockout over Cody Hier at Caged Madness 38 that earned him the 2015 BluegrassMMA Amateur Knockout of the Year award. He closed out his career with three straight wins, including winning the Caged Madness featherweight title with a 57-second TKO over Mike Walters at Caged Madness 43 last June.

Now, he’ll make his pro debut almost exactly a year later. He spent the past year opening a pizza restaurant with is father in Northeast Ohio, which was recently sold to an investor after just a couple of months open.

He’ll face the Virginia native Allen, who will also be making his pro debut. The MMA Institute product posted a 4-2 amateur record, including three wins via submission. In his most recent outing, he earned a decision over C. Jacob Ashley at Spartyka Fight League XXVI in his home state.

The amateur card is also deep, including a feature bout pitting Aleksa Camur (4-0) vs. John Roberts (4-1) for the light heavyweight title.

Also, fast-rising GriffonRawl product Logan Urban (5-0) will compete as an amateur for perhaps the last time, as he takes on Nate Davies (5-3). Undefeated super heavyweights will square off as Nicholas Brashear (6-0) takes on George Pointer (2-0), and unbeaten featherweights also throw down as Yohe Rojas (4-0) faces Justin Julian (3-0).

The entire fight card will stream live via FloCombat. Check out the full results below:

Amateur Fights

Fight 1
Jacob Huffman vs. Alec Price
Winner: Alec Price by Split Decision

Fight 2
Yohe Rojas (4-0) vs. Justin Julian (3-0)
Winner: Yohe Rojas by Submission (rear-naked choke), 0:41 of Rd 2

Fight 3
Chris Wood (4-3) vs. Jordan Beverly (5-2) – Heavyweight
Winner: Jordan Beverly by Submission (rear-naked choke), 0:31 of Rd 1

Fight 4
Max Meese (2-0) vs. Sen Sei Robertson (7-10) – Bantamweight
Winner: Max Meese by KO, Rd 1

Fight 5
Hunter Mohler vs. Isaiah Brewer
Winner: Fight Scratched

Fight 6
Roman Krizan vs. Kory Wheeler
Winner: Fight Scratched

Fight 7
George Pointer vs. Nicholas Brashear – Heavyweight
Winner: Nicholas Brashear by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Fight 8
Logan Urban (5-0) vs. Nate Davies (5-3) – Welterweight
Winner: Logan Urban by Submission (rear-naked choke), 2:57 of Rd 2

Fight 9
Aleksa Camur vs John Roberts – Light Heavyweight Title
Winner: Fight Scratched (John Roberts No Showed)

Professional Bouts

Fight 10
Kenny Locsei (2-1) vs. Dru Schottenheimer (3-1) – Bantamweight
Winner: Kenny Locsei by TKO (strikes), 1:41 of Rd 1

Fight 11
Ahmad Douglas (0-0) vs. Benjamin Allen (0-0) – Featherweight
Winner: Ben Allen by Submission (heel hook), 0:48 of Rd 3

Fight 12
JT Miller (3-1) vs. Tilek Mashrapov (2-1) – Welterweight
Winner: Tilek Mashrapov by Submission (rear-naked choke), 4:41 of Rd 2

Fight 13
Jeff Hughes (6-1) vs. Ryan Pokryfky (5-3) – Heavyweight
Winner: Jeff Hughes by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Fight 14
Cody Stevens (13-9-1) vs. Anthony Morrison (18-10) – Featherweight
Winner: Cody Stevens by Unanimous Decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Leave a Reply